Art and Stroll: CHANEL Spring-Summer 2014 Ready-to-Wear (Video)

Chanel Spring 2014 RTW

 

Is there a spell that compels tweed to magically mold into fantastic pieces for the Chanel brand? If you’re wondering like I am how something so seemingly conservative and male-oriented as tweed continually come to life so fresh and completely feminine year after year? I am still stunned at how Karl Lagerfeld has managed to keep the essence of Gabrielle Chanel’s revolutionary style while keeping each collection fashion forward and full of surprises.

Chanel Spring 2014 RTW

 

Pearls, chain, and tweed still reign but as newborns. The sleeveless tweed jackets that were adorned with drops of pearl made me daydream. Speaking of pearls, did you check out the humongous pearl chokers and bracelets? I can’t decide if I like them or not but isn’t that the idea, to confuse and provoke thought?

I would encourage anyone to look at the video as well as the slide show. It’s worth it to really see the detail and artistry in this collection. I’m not usually as ga-ga over the clothes as much as I am over Chanel accessories, but this one had me from the start. The way the Tweed was treated, and the use of color struck me from an artistic perspective. It was simply fashionable art. I don’t think either can exist without the other.

Chanel Spring 2014 RTW

 

Even the makeup looked like strokes of paint on canvas, and because the Grand Palais was plastered with paintings and sculptures to resemble an art gallery, the art of fashion message was clearly intentional. There are so many outfits I want I can’t stand it.

Chanel Spring 2014 RTW – Karl Lagerfeld threw a guy in so I thought I would too.

 

Sorry sweetie, that print looks better on the handbag, but you’re still pretty!

Chanel Spring 2014 RTW

 

Ok, seeing an actual Chanel Show in Paris is going on my bucket list.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelvin says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your
    weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog
    like this one these days.

    Like

    1. StylEnigma says:

      Thanks so much for the compliment. It is not a paid theme, and I do have to do a bit of tweaking.

      Like

  2. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

    Like

Leave a Reply

