Can You Wig a Weave? Yes, You Can

Wigs and hair weaves have come a long way baby. For many of us, our first introduction to a wig was probably an elderly relative or a Halloween costume. They play a more important role for people who are losing or have lost their hair, psycho exes, entertainers, women who are having a bad hair day, or those who just want to kick it up a notch in the bedroom. While I have never worn a wig, I am a big fan of weaves. I like that I can give my hair a break from the torture it goes through almost daily, and when the weave is taken out, my hair is well rested, healthy and has grown much faster than if I was still torturing my hair. I remember one time I was getting a weave put in, and my stylist kept asking me why I wore weaves when my hair was already so long. She felt I didn’t need one and couldn’t grasp the concept that my hair was long because I wore weaves! Duh!

I had a system; I would put a weave in every three months, then take it out for another three months. I repeated this cycle for years, and while my hair got extremely long, it didn’t hold a curl as well as the weave hair (I used Remy), so I became dependent on them and eventually I had to give them up cold turkey. I can’t say I will never have another weave but I can say that I will do so with the attitude that it is merely a fun tool. I have had to have discussions with a few acquaintances of various ethnicities who were going down the same terrifying road of weave and hair extension dependence for various reasons. This diseases doesn’t care who or what you are and it is addictive. True story…

I write a lot about overall beauty and recently I wrote a couple of articles about weaves and wigs that were published on the Daily Glow website. One article, Remy Hair Care: Lace-Front Wig Accessories, explains how to take care of a quality lace-front wig and touches on the products and accessories that will help your investment (they are not cheap) stay beautiful and functional longer.

Ok, this is a real hair weave!

The other article is a DIY about How to Make a Cap Weave, which is a hair weave that can be removed daily. I like to view it as a weave and a wig combined. If you know how to put in a weave, you know how to make a cap weave, and a cap weave will last longer than a weave if it is properly taken care of. As I think about it, it’s also a great way to learn how to put in a weave. Just use cheaper hair, preferably synthetic until you get the hang of it. You do not want to practice on 100% human hair, trust me.

Now that is a good weave!

Leave a Reply

