Do You Have a Point to Make?

Project Runway (season 8)
Project Runway (season 8) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My Saturday mornings start with Project Runway or America’s Next Top Model. I hear that ANTM will have male models and I can’t see that being the same (not that I don’t love the boys) so I might have to check out for the next cycle. I find Project Runway to be inspirational and I am rooting for Uli or Emilio to win Project Runway All Stars 2. I would have had a serious fit of Mondo didn’t win the first season of All Stars and I know I’m not alone. He was robbed in season 8.

I have recently become obsessed with nail art which is what provoked me to start a Pinterest account. I found so many designs I liked that it was the only way to keep track.  Nail art is the biggest trend of 2012; I think that’s indisputable, with sheer clothing coming in second. With nail art, the rules are there are no rules; anything goes. Even those who consider themselves to be conservative are straying away from traditional colors and opting for striking visuals with bright colors, textures, and lavish embellishments. I remember when nail art was considered to be ghetto, but let’s not get me started.

Sharp Stilettos
Sharp Stilettos by Sarah Payne (Photo Credit: Nails Magazine)

Celebrities like Rhianna and Lady Gaga are showcasing pointy nails or “stiletto nails” so of course the look is very popular, but I just can’t get on board. As beautiful as some of the designs are and as feisty as I am, the reality that these nails could do double-duty as a weapon and a fashion accessory is not lost on me. No one is worth going to jail over. That was until I saw these:

A Rose By Any Other Name
A Rose By Any Other Name by Greg Salo (Photo Credit:Nails Magazine)

I know… and you should see the workmanship that Greg Salo put into creating these masterpieces. I typically wear short nails with dark polish, but recently I have started wearing them a bit longer in a square-oval shape in order to try some nail art tutorials. I once had a torrid love affair with long acrylic nails but they’re just not practical for my lifestyle. The stiletto nails aren’t practical either but in another life… I’ll just have to admire them from afar. What do you think about the long pointed talons that are trending?

Leave a Reply

